The Pretenders - Pirate Radio 1979-2005 (2006)

To say that Warner/Rhino/Sire's 2006 four-CD, one-DVD box set Pirate Radio is for the die-hard Pretenders fan may be stating the obvious -- after all, career-spanning multi-disc sets heavy on rarities are by definition for diehards. But die-hard Pretenders fans are different than other die-hard fans, since they can be easily split into two separate camps: those who followed Chrissie Hynde throughout her career, and those who lost interest somewhere after 1983's Learning to Crawl, the triumphant third album that proved Hynde was above all a survivor. After that, Pretenders records were notoriously hit-or-miss affairs, sometimes holding together a little better than others, but patchy enough to whittle down their audience to just the dedicated, while still indicating that a killer comp could be pieced together from these records.


bulut on 3:07 pm said...

Disc: 1

1. Precious (Regent Park Demo)
2. Stop Your Sobbing
3. The Wait (Single Version)
4. Kid
5. Tattooed Love Boys
6. Mystery Achievement
7. Brass In Pocket
8. Porcelain
9. Talk Of The Town (U.K. Single Version)
10. Message Of Love
11. Cuban Slide
12. What You Gonna Do About It
13. The Adultress
14. Bad Boys Get Spanked
15. I Go To Sleep
16. Day After Day
17. Birds Of Paradise
18. The English Roses
19. Time The Avenger
20. Watching The Clothes (Denmark Street Demo)
21. Show Me

Disc: 2

1. Back On The Chain Gang
2. Thumbelina
3. Thin Line Between Love And Hate
4. My City Was Gone
5. Middle Of The Road
6. Tequila
7. 2000 Miles
8. When I Change My Life (Alternate Version)
9. My Baby
10. Worlds Within Worlds
11. Don’t Get Me Wrong
12. Hymn To Her
13. Tradition Of Love
14. Room Full Of Mirrors
15. Reconsider Me
16. Hold A Candle To This (Alternate Version)
17. Windows Of The World
18. Never Do That
19. No Guarantee
20. Not A Second Time

Disc: 3

1. Sense Of Purpose
2. Downtown (Akron)
3. How Do I Miss You
4. Bold As Love
5. When Will I See You
6. Hollywood Perfume
7. Night In My Veins
8. 977
9. All My Dreams
10. Angel Of The Morning (Original Version)
11. Money Talk
12. Rebel Rock Me
13. I’ll Stand By You
14. Every Mothers’ Son (Demo)
15. Love Colours
16. Private Life (Live)
17. Lovers Of Today (Live)
18. Creep (Live)
19. Criminal (Live)
20. Revolution (Live)

Disc: 4

1. Everyday Is Like Sunday
2. Human (Class Mix)
3. Popstar
4. Back Down
5. California
6. The Needle And The Damage Done
7. From The Heart Down (Alternate Version)
8. Who’s Who
9. Biker
10. Nails In The Road
11. Legalize Me
12. The Homecoming (Live)
13. Up The Neck (Live)
14. Fools Must Die (Live)
15. Nothing Breaks Like A Heart
16. Lie To Me
17. Complex Person
18. You Know Who Your Friends Are
19. I Should Of
20. The Losing

Rob said...

Both "Kid" and "I Go To Sleep" missing from first CD. This is a GREAT compilation. Thanks for the post.

Post a Comment

Popular Posts of the Week

Featured Post

of Montreal - Paranoiac Intervals/Body Dysmorphia [OFFICIAL MUSIC VIDEO]

He did it again ! Boys keep swinging meets Life on Mars.


Modern Music 2011 | Designed by Bulut