Bruce Springsteen - We Shall Overcome

We Shall Overcome: The Seeger Sessions is the fourteenth studio album by Bruce Springsteen, released in 2006 (see 2006 in music).

This is Springsteen's first and only album of cover versions and contains his interpretation of thirteen folk music songs written or made popular by Pete Seeger and recorded in an informal, large band setting. On it he hired a group of lesser-known musicians from New Jersey and New York, augmented by Patti Scialfa, Soozie Tyrell, and The Miami Horns, who had all contributed to previous albums.

To the dismay of some Springsteen fans, it was his second consecutive non-E Street Band, non-rock music project. Nevertheless, the critical reception to the album was very positive, with E! Online calling it his "best album since Nebraska [1] and All Music Guide labeling it "rambunctious, freewheeling, [and] positively joyous" [2]. PopMatters called it a "a sonic transfusion on the order of the Mermaid Avenue records" [3], which were Woody Guthrie songs recorded by Billy Bragg and Wilco.

Like that previous studio album, Devils & Dust, The Seeger Sessions was released exclusively on the DualDisc format, with the exception of a limited Vinyl release. The full album is on the CD side, while the DVD side features a PCM Stereo version of the album and a short film about the making and recording of the album. Two bonus songs also appear on the DVD side.

The subsequent Bruce Springsteen with The Seeger Sessions Band Tour took this musical approach even further.

As of June 28, 2006, it has sold 467,000 copies in the United States.


Post a Comment

Popular Posts of the Week

Featured Post

of Montreal - Paranoiac Intervals/Body Dysmorphia [OFFICIAL MUSIC VIDEO]

He did it again ! Boys keep swinging meets Life on Mars.


Modern Music 2011 | Designed by Bulut