Johnny Cash Greatest Hits: Best of the Best Gold

Important Notes:
American Recordings

His career was rejuvenated in the 1990s. In 1993, he sang the vocal on U2's "The Wanderer" for their album Zooropa. Although he was no longer sought after by major labels, Cash was approached by producer Rick Rubin and offered a contract with Rubin's American Recordings label, better known for rap and hard rock than for country music. Under Rubin's supervision, he recorded the album American Recordings (1994) in his living room, accompanied only by his guitar. The video for the first single, the traditional song "Delia's Gone," was put into rotation on MTV, including a spot on Beavis and Butt-head. The album was hailed by critics and many declared it to be Cash's finest album since the late 1960s, while his versions of songs by more modern artists such as heavy metal band Danzig and Tom Waits helped to bring him a new audience. American Recordings received a Grammy for Contemporary Folk Album of the Year at the 1994 Grammy Awards. Cash wrote that his reception at the 1994 Glastonbury Festival was one of the highlights of his career. This was the beginning of a decade of music industry accolades and surprising commercial success. In addition to this, Cash and his wife appeared on a number of episodes of the popular television series Dr. Quinn, Medicine Woman starring Jane Seymour. The actress thought so highly of Cash that she later named one of her twin sons after him.

For his second album with Rubin, 1996's Unchained, Cash enlisted the accompaniment of Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers. In addition to many of Cash's own compositions, Unchained contained songs by Soundgarden ("Rusty Cage") and Beck ("Rowboat"), as well as a guest appearance from Flea, bassist for the Red Hot Chili Peppers. The album also included a cover of a classic 1962 Hank Snow song called "I've Been Everywhere." Despite being virtually ignored by country music radio and the Nashville establishment, Unchained received a Grammy for Best Country Album. Cash and Rubin bought a full-page ad in Billboard magazine sarcastically thanking the country music industry for its continued support, accompanied by a picture of Cash displaying his middle finger.
Link fot this album:
Pass,Tracklist in comment


bulut on 2:12 pm said...

1. I Walk The Line
2. Big River
3. Dont Take Your Guns To Town
4. I Got Stripes
5. Five Feet High And Rising
6. Tennessee Flat-Top Box
7. Bonanza
8. Ring Of Fire
9. Understand Your Man
10. It Aint Me Babe
11. Orange Blossom Special
12. The One On The Right Is On The Left
13. (Ghost) Riders In The Sky
14. Jackson
15. A Boy Named Sue (Live0
16. Daddy Sings Bass
17. If I Were A Carpenter
18. What Is Truth
19. Flesh And Blood
20. Wanted Man
21. Man In Black
22. A Thing Called Love
23. Kate
24. One Piece At A Time
25. Highway Patrolman
26. Johnny 99


Post a Comment

Popular Posts of the Week

Featured Post

of Montreal - Paranoiac Intervals/Body Dysmorphia [OFFICIAL MUSIC VIDEO]

He did it again ! Boys keep swinging meets Life on Mars.


Modern Music 2011 | Designed by Bulut