The Replacements - Don't You Know Who I Think I Was (2006)

Album of the Day
Chronicling The Replacements' gloriously tempestuous decade on a single disc ostensibly seems akin to reading Cliff's Notes for the New Testament: No sooner do you grow fond of the protagonist than they've nailed him up. And if that comparison sounds a tad sacrilegious, perhaps you underestimate the Mats' hallowed place in modern rock history--and the hearts of their ardent fans. Yet somehow even this condensed format focuses the songs of Paul Westerberg and playing of bandmates Bob and Tommy Stinson and drummer Chris Mars into a dramatic arc that can't be denied. The initial tracks of this 20-track collection display a band joyously besotted by nascent punk thrash, yet one not so different from the scores of similar bands tearing up local clubs in the '80s.


bulut on 7:59 am said...


Anonymous said...

1. Takin A Ride
2. Shiftless When Idle
3. Kids Don't Follow
4. Color Me Impressed
5. Within Your Reach
6. I Will Dare
7. Answering Machine
8. Unsatisfied
9. Here Comes A Regular
10. Kiss Me On The Bus
11. Bastards Of Young
12. Left Of The Dial
13. Alex Chilton
14. Skyway
15. Can't Hardly Wait
16. Achin' To Be
17. I'll Be You
18. Merry Go Round
19. Message To The Boys (New Recording)
20. Pool & Dive (New Recording)

Sam Stone said...

I always loved the Replacements, so thanks a lot for sharing :-)

spaceface said...

Thank you. Never had the chance to check these boys out.

Post a Comment

Popular Posts of the Week

Featured Post

of Montreal - Paranoiac Intervals/Body Dysmorphia [OFFICIAL MUSIC VIDEO]

He did it again ! Boys keep swinging meets Life on Mars.


Modern Music 2011 | Designed by Bulut