The Mars Volta - Scab Dates (2005)

The Mars Volta is an American musical group founded by Cedric Bixler-Zavala and Omar Rodriguez-Lopez. They are generally considered rock, with heavy punk, prog and Latin influences. They are known for their wild live shows, oblique lyrics and heavy reliance on ambient music to establish mood.

Scabdates is the second official live recording from the band The Mars Volta. It was released on November 8th, 2005 and features music recorded between May 2004 and May 2005 during the 2003-2005 tour in support of Frances the Mute and De-Loused in the Comatorium.

While the disc contains twelve tracks, only three of the band's studio works are represented; many of the tracks constitute expansions on musical themes which appear elsewhere in their work, or entirely new segments altogether. For example, the lengthy exposition on "Cicatriz ESP," which combined with its introduction "Haruspex" comprises about 48 minutes of the disc, incorporates into its lengthy jam themes which would later be used in "Cassandra Gemini" (the performance excerpted here was recorded on May 12, 2004, almost a year before Frances the Mute was released).

The Mars Volta have freely encouraged the trading of bootlegged live performances, but Scabdates was lauded by many fans for its superior sound quality and for being the first official recording that captured the Volta's lengthy experimental workouts during live performances.

While the material on Scabdates is drawn almost entirely from live performances, the music doesn't appear exactly as performed; "Part IV" of "Cicatriz" incorporates a full eight-minute, neo-psychedelic sound collage of many other Mars Volta live performances that was not featured in the original performance, and "Abrasions Mount the Timpani" features sound samples of mewling babies and airplane announcements that Omar recorded while on the road with the band.

Artist: The Mars Volta
Album: Scabdates
Bitrate: 223kbps avg
Label: Universal
Genre: Alt. Rock
Size: 121 megs
Playtime: 1h 12min 49sec total
Rip date: 2005-10-25
Store date: 2005-11-08

Track List:
01. Abrasions Mount The Timpani 4:07
02. Take The Veil Cerpin Taxt 5:56
03. A) Gust Of Mutts 2:34
04. B) And Ghosted Pouts 4:52
05. Caviglia 2:45
06. Concertina 4:17
07. Haruspex 5:23
08. Cicatriz 8:16
09. A) Pt I 2:33
10. B) Pt II 7:39
11. C) Pt 3 4:27
12. D) Pt IV 20:00


ghostcat said...

Nice job, thanks for sharing.

Post a Comment

Popular Posts of the Week


Modern Music 2011 | Designed by Bulut