Elliott Smith - Either / Or (1997)

Either/Or (1997) is the name of the third album recorded by American singer-songwriterElliott Smith.

The album was released on Kill Rock Stars on 25 February 1997 on compact disc and vinyl LP. It was Smith's second full-length release on the influential Seattle record label.

It has been speculated that the title of Either/Or refers to the logical condition of an absurd human life: Either life has a profound meaning or death is the only option. However, the title is actually derived from the Søren Kierkegaard book of the same name, reflecting Smith's interest in philosophy, something he studied (among other subjects) at Hampshire College in Massachusetts. Smith battled with depression throughout his mature life and Either/Or reflects that with such dispiriting song titles as "Ballad of Big Nothing", "Between the Bars", "No Name No. 5", "Cupid's Trick".


  • "Angeles", "Between the Bars", and "Say Yes" were used in the soundtrack for Gus Van Sant's film Good Will Hunting, along with "No Name #3" from Roman Candle and an orchestral version of "Between the Bars."


bulut on 5:10 pm said...

1. Speed Trials
2. Alameda
3. Ballad of Big Nothing
4. Between the Bars
5. Pictures of Me
6. No Name No. 5
7. Rose Parade
8. Punch and Judy
9. Angeles
10. Cupid's Trick
11. 2:45 AM
12. Say Yes

Greg on 6:54 pm said...

Do you have the password for the elliott smith-figure 8 album that you posted a few days ago. It would be much appreciated.

bulut on 6:55 pm said...

No I Couldn't find it:(sorry

Mateus said...

This the best website ever!!!!!

Thank you for the work!!!!

Post a Comment

Popular Posts of the Week

Featured Post

of Montreal - Paranoiac Intervals/Body Dysmorphia [OFFICIAL MUSIC VIDEO]

He did it again ! Boys keep swinging meets Life on Mars.


Modern Music 2011 | Designed by Bulut