Pixies - Doolittle

Doolittle is the Pixies' second LP album, released in April 1989 through the 4AD label (green-brown cover). The album was re-released in May 2003 (blue-brown cover). Elektra Records handled it in the United States, making Doolittle the Pixies major label debut. The album title comes from the "Mr. Grieves" lyric "Pray for a man in the middle / One that talks like Doolittle". The album cover takes its image from the song "Monkey Gone to Heaven" with its image of a monkey angel and the numbers 5, 6, and 7, whose symbolic value in Christianity is played upon in the final verse.

Often regarded as the band's pop album, Doolittle's sound is much cleaner than that of its predecessor, Surfer Rosa, largely due to the introduction of producer Gil Norton, and showcased the slightly more mainstream sound the band had hinted at with their first single "Gigantic". Despite this however, the subject matter of much of the album is as dark and obscure as anything the Pixies had released previously, with songs about Biblical rape and torture, death, deprivation, and, perhaps most memorably, both the spooning and slicing of human eyeballs.

The album was certified gold by the RIAA on November 10, 1995[1]. In 2003, the album was ranked number 226 on Rolling Stone magazine's list of the 500 greatest albums of all time.


bulut on 6:40 am said...

1. Debaser
2. Tame
3. Wave of Mutilation
4. I Bleed
5. Here Comes Your Man
6. Dead
7. Monkey Gone to Heaven
8. Mr. Grieves
9. Crackity Jones
10. La La Love You
11. No. 13 Baby
12. There Goes My Gun
13. Hey
14. Silver
15. Gouge Away


Post a Comment

Popular Posts of the Week

Featured Post

of Montreal - Paranoiac Intervals/Body Dysmorphia [OFFICIAL MUSIC VIDEO]

He did it again ! Boys keep swinging meets Life on Mars.


Modern Music 2011 | Designed by Bulut